

# Harness Breeders (Vic) Inc

## **ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING**

Held 10:30AM Sunday 03 March 2024 online via Zoom and at Bendigo Harness Racing Club

### **Harness Breeders Victoria Inc**

PO Box 406 EPSOM VIC 3551 AUSTRALIA

www.hbv.org.au contact@hbv.org.au

tw @HarnessBreeders in @HarnessBreedersVic

Like us on Facebook

#### **MINUTES**

#### 1. Welcome

President Nick Hooper welcomed everyone to the meeting as chair and confirmed quorum (see attached)

## 2. Attendance and apologies

Formal apologies received: Helen Friend, Ian Stanley, John & Kaye Campbell

3. Confirmation of minutes of the previous AGM held on 14 March 2023

Moved Maurice Hanrahan; seconded Sally McPherson CARRIED

4. Business Arising from the Minutes NA

### 5. President's Report – Mr Nick Hooper

Moved Clyde Little; seconded Lorraine Barnes CARRIED

#### 6. Secretary's Report – Mr Brett Coffey

Moved Maurice Hanrahan; seconded Lorraine Barnes CARRIED

#### 7. Treasurer's Report – Mr Maurice Hanrahan

Moved Sally McPherson; seconded Lorraine Barnes CARRIED

8. Executive Officer's Report – as per Annual Report
Tabled

**CONTINUES** 

#### 9. Election of Committee Members for 2024

Terry Lewis was temporarily appointed to the Chair and continued in the role of Chair to the conclusion of the meeting.

Maurice Hanrahan was up for re-election. His nomination for the role of Treasurer was received and accepted.

Other committee members were not required to re-nominate in 2024.

No further nominations were received.

The 2024 committee was confirmed as Maurice Hanrahan (Treasurer), Sally McPherson, Jess Tubbs, Ian Stanley and Clyde Little.

The roles of President, Secretary and Vice President stand as a casual vacancy.

The committee resolved to schedule a General Meeting of the Committee within a fortnight of the AGM to make appropriate appointments as required by the Rules of the Association.

#### 10. Other Business

Clyde Little moved a vote of thanks to Nick Hooper for his service as President, to Brett Coffey for his service as Secretary, and to Terry Lewis (past President and Vice President) and Dr Kath McIntosh (immediate past Vice President) and retiring committee member Helen Friend, and noted that HBV was a better association for the calibre and experience of these members.

Moved Clyde Little; seconded Maurice Hanrahan CARRIED

Questions from the Floor

*Terry Lewis*: Has HBV been invited to HRV kindred body meetings and has HBV engaged in such.

Confirmed that HBV has been invited to and has been represented at meetings held with kindred bodies by HRV and Government. A Harness Link article referred to was not a press release, rather an interview with the Victorian Harness Sports Club. Shane Gloury confirmed that he had been contacted for comment by that media outlet and had not wished to speak for HBV in that interview. Maurice Hanrahan reiterated previous Executive comment that HBV had been approached in regard to the circulation of a recent petition but had not been able to seek Committee opinion in time to be published as a signatory due.

Sally McPherson: Does HBV agree with the sentiments of that petition.

HBV as an association agrees that the renewed HRV Board should in part constitute individuals with significant harness racing experience.

Geoff Barnes: Is the membership of HBV stable.

The membership of the association is stable and good in comparison to other kindred bodies.

Lorraine Barnes: How many members are owner-breeders.

The ratio would be similar to that of the general participant population (approx. 65%). The consideration of a collaboration with the owners' association or an expansion of HBV's stated role to incorporate owners' interests will be added to the next General Meeting agenda. Mrs Barnes was encouraged by the President of the VHSC to join the committee of the owners' association.

Geoff Barnes: Will the issue of HRA's stallion levy be revisited.

HBV will use the now-available data to revisit the stallion levy and its impact on Victorian breeding and racing with HRV with a view to adjustments in 2026 when the current three-year contracts within the Eureka Series have expired.

## 11. Closure of Meeting by President

11:30AM Sunday 12 March 2023

#### **2024 HBV AGM ATTENDENCE REGISTER**

Nick Hooper (Chair)
Brett Coffey
Maurice Hanrahan
Sally McPherson
Terry Lewis
Jenny Lewis
Clyde Little
Lorraine Barnes
Geoff Barnes
Shane Gloury