Victorian Breeders Awards

Victorian Breeders Awards

Every year Harness Breeders Victoria recognises excellence in the Standardbred racehorse breeding industry through the Victorian Breeders Awards.


PLEASE NOTE: Although our membership period of 1 Sep - 31 Aug every year has not changed, due to HRA's extension of the racing season to 31 December 2020, the 2020 Victorian Breeder Awards event for eligible 2019-20 members will will be held in early 2021 and members and their horses will be assessed on performances and achievements across the full, extended racing season (not just the membership period).

2020-21 members (1 Sep - 31 Aug) will be eligible for Awards assessed on performances and achievements for the 1 Jan - 31 Dec 2021 racing season..

This will primarily affect NEW members joining for the 2020-21 period - please be aware that if you join HBV for 2020-21, you and your horses will not receive any awards at the early 2021 event for  performances recorded from 1 Sep to 31 Dec 2020 - if you would like your horses to be eligible for BOTH sets of awards, please note so on your application form and supply payment for both the current and the new season.


About the Awards

As well as juvenile sires and broodmares of the year for both gaits, we acknowledge long-term contribution to the industry and seasonal achievement with the Ian Daff Memorial and Victorian Breeder of the Year respectively. We nominate a 2YO, 3YO and Aged starter of the year for both gaits and genders, and present trophies to all Group 1 winners and to those runners who achieved an outstanding time across the season. Commercial breeders are recognised with the Yearling Sales High Earner trophies.

An event is held each year to recognise these winner of the Woodlands Victorian Breeder of the Year showcased with the industry's best at the Victorian Harness night-of-nights, the Gordon Rothacker Medal Dinner.

Details on our own Victorian Breeders Awards event will be added to the Calendar as they are available, and promotions will be posted by email and our social media channels.

Click on the year below to see the HBV Victorian Breeders Awards Roll of Honour and notes on criteria for that season.

2013-2014 2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017
2017-2018 2018-2019 2019-2020  


Eligibility criteria apply to all awards (outlined in the season links above), with horses required to be Vicbred eligible and bred by HBV members who were financial for all or part of the relevant racing season.

To put yourself and your Vicbred horse/s in contention for a Time Excellence Award, Group 1 Trophy, Championship Trophy and Gold Trophies, make sure your membership is current - download a renewal & application form here.




Since 2014, the Ian Daff Memorial Award recognises significant and tenured contribution and service to the Victorian Breeding Industry.

Year Recipient
2019 The Judd Family, Benstud
2018 Peter Gleeson
2017 Craig & Bruce Cameron
2016 Dr Martin & Mrs Kaye Hartnett
2015 Duncan McPherson OAM, Aldebaran Lodge
2014 Kevin Riseley, Sheron Park
2013 Harvey & Shell Kaplan
2012 John & Christine Yeomans, Homestead Park
2011 John Munnerley
2010 Kevin Newbound
2009 Mick Lombardo, Lombo Standardbreds
2008 Bill & Anne Anderson, Lauriston Park
2007 Graham & Helen Head
2006 The Craven Family
2005 Peter Provis, Aptaro Standardbreds